World Autism Awareness Day

2 04 2012

Until my race on April 22, Mondays are my “day off” for the week. No training or cross-training being done, mostly a day spent doing housework 😛 .

Today our family is taking part in World Autism Awareness Day. We are an autism family. Our son is one of the 1 in 88 children that are diagnosed. (One of the 1 in 54 boys.) Our daughter will forever live as an autism sibling and all of the challenges that brings. I’m changing my header on this blog blue for the rest of the month. (It’s a picture of our porch light.) (If you’d like to read more about our autism story, click here to follow the link to our family blog page.)

I have also been working hard on finding an event to take part in during September. I have come across two really fantastic opportunities, but have yet to been able to talk my husband into thinking that either is a good idea. (Either for financial or safety reasons.) The first option is the Boston 13.1 with a team of 400 autism parents/family members/friends. (Read about that here.) The other option is rappelling down a 17-story building in Milwaukee for Special Olympics. (Read more about that here.) I think that either would be completely fabulous. Just waiting to see if I can make either one an absolute.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment